Reviews

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Chapel of the Chimes is a beautiful setting and I was glad I could lay my mother to rest there. However, I found the process to plan for the service and the burial could, at times, be trying. Luckily, Joyce Van Hoof, Sales Assistant Manager, was the guiding hand that helped me navigate the Chapel of the Chimes' process. Joyce is very professional and caring. She listened to my wishes and concerns and made sure I understood what Chapel of the Chimes would provide, what the options were and the associated costs. Joyce would explain the various forms that had to be signed and was very efficient in getting them processed. She was always responsive to any changes I wanted made and provided recommendations for resources I needed. I counted on Joyce throughout the entire process and she always came through. She was definitely my "goto" person. I will always be grateful to Joyce for making it easier to get through the final stage of a very great loss.

Y.J. June 24, 2020

My sister and I were faced with a lot of concerns and questions about how to take care of our departed mom a few weeks ago. My sister is local but I flew from North Carolina and we were both immersed in grief and confusion. As soon as we met Denise and Jaguar at Chapel of the Chimes we were put at ease and started to begin the path of feeling comfortable AND comforted. Their kindness, professionalism and advice brought us out of the dark and I cannot thank them enough. They followed up on everything in a tremendously sensitive fashion and I am very grateful.

K.L. June 24, 2020

I recently attended my grandmother’s memorial service. The chapel itself was very beautiful, with lovely architecture and peaceful surroundings. We exercised many Chinese traditions and it was so comforting when the staff was understanding of our concerns. They never once made us feel like our traditions were difficult to accommodate. This is a beautiful place that made the memory of my grandmother’s passing a little easier to bear. I extend my deepest gratitude.

V.L.

Our family went through very difficult period in the last two years. We cremated four family members in just two years. I arranged all four funerals at the Chapel of the Chimes Oakland. We used the Hindu Antim Sanskar package. The Service and support by the Chapel was “absolutely flawless”. They made our difficult occasion as easy as possible. The Chapel was peaceful and dignified and service by staff flawless!

H.S.

We couldn’t have asked for better care and support from Chapel of the Chimes. Everyone was helpful and clearly “customer services” is a value you all demonstrate. You never said “No, we can’t do that” and accommodated our changes and request. Thank you all!

N.J.

Chapel of the Chimes was extremely helpful and sensitive to our needs when Grandpa passed away. We were greeted and shown all the choices we needed to make but never felt rushed or left with questions of any kind.

M. H.

Everyone was very Professional and compassionate. We felt the staff was very helpful with what we needed to be done, and Yes we would refer Chapel of the Chimes to others.

V.C.

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situations.

S.S.

Have referred recently my friend’s husband passed suddenly. Very home like atmosphere and peaceful staff are very respectful & professional.

G.B.

I was fortunate to have Jaguar Rude and Joyce van Hoof help me when my mother died. Both of them were thoughtful and kind. They paid attention to my numerous concerns, and listened to me without interrupting. There were decisions to be made, and they did not rush me. They were very reassuring. When my mother was ready to be interred, two members of our family had unexpected health problems. I called Joyce, to ask if we could postpone the interment service, and she assured me that a delay would be no problem. When we were finally able to assemble for the interment, Joyce and Jaguar were there to greet us. Everything was in place for a short service. My parents' urn was set on a table with a white cloth on it. We were able to talk about our memories of my mother, and we did not feel at all rushed. Joyce was wonderful. She served as a guide for us through an unfamiliar ritual, which we will now remember as peaceful and serene. The person who performed the actual interment, Nick, was respectful and dignified. These are two caring individuals who did their best to make a difficult situation bearable. I would recommend Jaguar and Joyce for their compassionate, professional service. The staff at Chapel of the Chimes was quietly helpful. Our family memories of this milestone day will be pleasant ones.

K. L.

Love them we have had beautiful funeral always something unique and go along with everything I asked from them and more and very helpful. Ps. you keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.S.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff us wonderful in standing ready to assist with future needs that may arise.

P.M.

Love them we have had beautiful funeral always something unique and go along with everything I asked from them and more and very helpful. Ps. you keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.S.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes is twofold. My first occasion was my baby son, Chapel of the Chimes handle his services in a humane caring and professional manner. Second by my wife’s services were handle in the same manner. Hopefully in the distant future my last rites will also handle by Chapel of the Chimes my only choice.

M.R.

The Chapel of the Chimes Oakland Staff have always been a great Comfort to our Family at such difficult times. The Staff goes beyond what is expected to see that all your loved ones needs are met.

S.H. August 21, 2013

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes is two fold. My first occasion was my baby boy who died of SIDS. Chapel of the Chimes handled his services in a humane caring and professional manner. Second by my wife’s services were handled in the same manner. Hopefully in the distant future my last rites will also be handled by Chapel of the Chimes my only choice.

M.R. July 23, 2013

In this difficult time, the staff was wonderful. They were very patient and understanding. I would not hesitate to recommend friends and family here.

D.J. July 23, 2013

Sophia and Rev. Bell Oh Boy two of the world’s Best they go way beyond. They the two of them are like family to me and all my family members. I don’t know what I would do without either of them love, love, love them. I would give up my life for them what a blessing they are. They exceeded our expectations and are very helpful always. Nine of our family members are buried their all very well taken care of by these two people. Love them we have had beautiful funerals always something unique and they go a long with everything I asked of them and more. p.s. You keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.D.S. March 13, 2013

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed, confident and in control of our decisions. Sophie and Ribbian were professional and most importantly personable.

F. Family February 14, 2013

Tom, Many, many thanks for all your expertise, support, "energy" and even your sense of humor throughout the incredible process with my dear and wonderful father. You made it easy! You're the best! (Even if you are a Red Sox fan!) All the best!

J.C.H.

Tom, I just wanted to thank you again for your excellence in handling the services for my brother. You make everything so much easier for all of us, without you I can't image how we would have gotten through the crisis we were faced with. You were able to guide us, step-by-step, and holding our hands along the way. I personally appreciated your focus, humor, and support you are truly a wonderful kind-hearted person. Thanks for your service professionalism, and thoughtfulness. We could not have accomplished this challenge without you. P.S. Tell Raymond thanks also he was a perfect wonder on Saturday!

V.T. and Family

I was fortunate to have Jaguar Rude and Joyce van Hoof help me when my mother died. Both of them were thoughtful and kind. They paid attention to my numerous concerns, and listened to me without interrupting. There were decisions to be made, and they did not rush me. They were very reassuring. When my mother was ready to be interred, two members of our family had unexpected health problems. I called Joyce, to ask if we could postpone the interment service, and she assured me that a delay would be no problem. When we were finally able to assemble for the interment, Joyce and Jaguar were there to greet us. Everything was in place for a short service. My parents' urn was set on a table with a white cloth on it. We were able to talk about our memories of my mother, and we did not feel at all rushed. Joyce was wonderful. She served as a guide for us through an unfamiliar ritual, which we will now remember as peaceful and serene. The person who performed the actual interment, Nick, was respectful and dignified. These are two caring individuals who did their best to make a difficult situation bearable. I would recommend Jaguar and Joyce for their compassionate, professional service. The staff at Chapel of the Chimes was quietly helpful. Our family memories of this milestone day will be pleasant ones.

C. Y.

The staff were caring, responsive, and very welcoming. Their professionalism gave our family comfort during a tough time.

S. S.

My Parents, grandparents, aunt and cousin are all in a niche at the Chapel. I am very pleased with the care that the Chapel has taken in the room where our family niche is. Recently the Chapel cremated my husband. Everything was handled very efficiently and professionally, I was very pleased with the experience.

M.S.

I wish I could find the perfect words to describe how you helped my family and get through this most difficult time for all of us. You really know how to b there at the exact moment unexpected and help families with decisions we never had to think about. I am grateful for your caring staff we followed you through all my mother’s wishes and made a sad event a lasting memory she would be happy with and we knew it. God bless you all and much love…

D.A.

We had attended many services at Chapel of the Chimes over the years. This was the first service for our immediate family. Everything from location, parking, facilities, and help from Chapel staff was always outstanding. I would highly recommend to friends and family members.

H.L

My experience with Mr. Tom Marsden and Mrs. Sophie Arreta was informative, comforting professional and I can truthfully say very pleasant. The two ladies who acted as ushers were also quite pleasant. The minister recommended by Mr. Marsden gave just the right spiritual touch. I would definitely recommend Chapel of the Chimes.

A.H.

My first official contact with the Chapel of the Chimes was in the interment of my father’s and grandparents ashes there in 1967, followed by the interring my mother’s ashes in 1993. My most recent contact was in related to my wife’s ashes in 2013. Over the years I have been accorded the finest assistance and caring treatment by all the Chapel’s staff.

S.S.

Yes, I would refer the Chapel of the Chimes to friends and family.

A.H.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff us wonderful in standing ready to assist with future needs that may arise.

P.A.

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed confident and in control of our decision. Sophie & Ribbian were professional and most importantly –Personable. Thank you from the Family

G.F.

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situations.

S.S.

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed confident and in control of our decision. Sophie & Ribbian were professional and most importantly –Personable. Thank you from the Family

G.F.

Everyone at Chapel of the Chimes were very helpful and pleasure to work with I’ll refer no reservations.

C.F.

My total experience in dealing with the staff at Chapel of the Chimes (Oakland) was a”5 STARTS” or a 10 (1-10) everyone was friendly, kind, sympathetic… highly professional. I could not have been more PLEASED!

W.L.

I would refer others to the Chapel.

M. MK. August 21, 2013

My total experience in dealing with the staff at Chapel of the Chimes was a “5 Stars” or a “10” or an “A+”! Everyone was friendly, kind, sympathetic, and highly professional. I could not have been more please!

W.C. July 23, 2013

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff is wonderful in standing ready to assist with any further needs that may arise.

P.M. March 13, 2013

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situation.

S.S. February 14, 2013

We found everyone very compassionate and understanding. There was never a rush and we were very pleased with the service. An appointment was set up when my mother’s ashes were ready for placement and that went smoothly.

W.L. January 19, 2013

It took me two years to write this review. My brother unexpectedly died from his injuries in a car accident and was on life support for four days. Our family had to make the touch decision of taking him off and he passed away a day after being disconnected. As we tried to navigate this sad path, a family friend suggested we look at the Chapel of the Chimes and my parents loved it right away. We spoke with Tom, an older gentleman who was from the East Coast and he helped us in making plans for the service and everything. He was very kind and answered our questions thoroughly, making suggestions as we went. My brother was cremated and my mother was able to pick out a pretty urn for him.

A.L.