Reviews

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

I was very impressed with the facilities and the service provided by Chapel of the Chimes staff at a recent funeral for a family member. I’ve been to a lot of funerals in my 53 years and the compassion for the mourners, professionalism and attentiveness to the details demonstrated by Todd, Cliff and Dominique were nothing less than top notch. I would highly recommend Chapel of the Chimes to anyone wanting empathetic and professional treatment while honoring their loved one in a special way.

J.D.

I recently attended my grandmother’s memorial service. The chapel itself was very beautiful, with lovely architecture and peaceful surroundings. We exercised many Chinese traditions and it was so comforting when the staff was understanding of our concerns. They never once made us feel like our traditions were difficult to accommodate. This is a beautiful place that made the memory of my grandmother’s passing a little easier to bear. I extend my deepest gratitude.

V.L.

Our family went through very difficult period in the last two years. We cremated four family members in just two years. I arranged all four funerals at the Chapel of the Chimes Oakland. We used the Hindu Antim Sanskar package. The Service and support by the Chapel was “absolutely flawless”. They made our difficult occasion as easy as possible. The Chapel was peaceful and dignified and service by staff flawless!

H.S.

Ivory made our experience with Chapel of the Chimes pleasant and efficient. She went above and beyond to make certain all of our questions were answered and our needs met her compassion and attention to our needs helped us all through a challenging time.

J.T.

We couldn’t have asked for better care and support from Chapel of the Chimes. Everyone was helpful and clearly “customer services” is a value you all demonstrate. You never said “No, we can’t do that” and accommodated our changes and request. Thank you all!

N.J.

Chapel of the Chimes was extremely helpful and sensitive to our needs when Grandpa passed away. We were greeted and shown all the choices we needed to make but never felt rushed or left with questions of any kind.

M. H.

Everyone was very Professional and compassionate. We felt the staff was very helpful with what we needed to be done, and Yes we would refer Chapel of the Chimes to others.

V.C.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland staff was kind, efficient and a learning experience for me too. Ribbian was most helpful & patient explained thoroughly I would gladly recommend you to family and friends.

R. L.

Yes, I would refer the Chapel of the Chimes to friends and family.

A.H.

• The entire staff at the Chapel of the Chimes is excellent employees who are polite and kind. They were very helpful after my mother’s passing. Todd Parker & Dionne Morgan were the advisors who helped us with my mother’s necessary paperwork and cremation service. Good thing our parents did advance planning with the chapel. The two gentlemen who came at 3:30 a.m. to pick up our mother to transport her to Chapel of the Chimes were top notch. They were polite kind to my sister and me. It made the process more bearable and comfortable.

S.L.O

My experience was very good. The staffs especially Linda Charles & Ed Bell were very caring and understanding. I would strongly recommend the Chapel of the Chimes.

C.M.

Love them we have had beautiful funeral always something unique and go along with everything I asked from them and more and very helpful. Ps. you keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.S.

Ian and the Staff were extremely pleasant to work with. Thank You!!

C.F.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff us wonderful in standing ready to assist with future needs that may arise.

P.M.

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed confident and in control of our decision. Sophie & Ribbian were professional and most importantly –Personable. Thank you from the Family

G.F.

Mr. Bell and Ms. Finley were understanding and efficient made a special effort on our behalf. Would recommend your services to anyone.

M.C.

Everyone at Chapel of the Chimes were very helpful and pleasure to work with I’ll refer no reservations.

C.F.

#1 I would refer to friends & family. #2 Service our family received was excellent very professional and staff showed empathy for our family. Ribbian McGrew did an excellent job, helping us plan and just being there to guide us through the process.

R.C.

My total experience in dealing with the staff at Chapel of the Chimes (Oakland) was a”5 STARTS” or a 10 (1-10) everyone was friendly, kind, sympathetic… highly professional. I could not have been more PLEASED!

W.L.

The Chapel of the Chimes Oakland Staff have always been a great Comfort to our Family at such difficult times. The Staff goes beyond what is expected to see that all your loved ones needs are met.

S.H. August 21, 2013

My trust in Bob Walkup made my decision for final arrangement of my uncle 3 years ago simple. Bob’s handling of uncle’s last wishes made choosing Chapel of the Chimes easy when my mother passed away. It is not Chapel of the Chimes I choose, it is Bob Walkup, he is easy to work with through difficult, emotional times.

R.O'D. August 21, 2013

Everyone was very helpful and professional. We had to inter my mom who had already interred my dad and her space. Ivory was particularly.

H.C. August 21, 2013

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes is two fold. My first occasion was my baby boy who died of SIDS. Chapel of the Chimes handled his services in a humane caring and professional manner. Second by my wife’s services were handled in the same manner. Hopefully in the distant future my last rites will also be handled by Chapel of the Chimes my only choice.

M.R. July 23, 2013

In this difficult time, the staff was wonderful. They were very patient and understanding. I would not hesitate to recommend friends and family here.

D.J. July 23, 2013

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff is wonderful in standing ready to assist with any further needs that may arise.

P.M. March 13, 2013

Sophia and Rev. Bell Oh Boy two of the world’s Best they go way beyond. They the two of them are like family to me and all my family members. I don’t know what I would do without either of them love, love, love them. I would give up my life for them what a blessing they are. They exceeded our expectations and are very helpful always. Nine of our family members are buried their all very well taken care of by these two people. Love them we have had beautiful funerals always something unique and they go a long with everything I asked of them and more. p.s. You keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.D.S. March 13, 2013

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed, confident and in control of our decisions. Sophie and Ribbian were professional and most importantly personable.

F. Family February 14, 2013

Working with Ribbian was so comfortable and easy for us. Under difficult circumstances, she is the epitome of professionalism and sensitivity. She is the perfect guide into uncharted waters. It is also true that all staff, with whom we spoke, were quite helpful and knowledgeable.

L.M. January 19, 2013

When I was informed that my mother had a short time to live, I phoned Tommy Marsden, let him know and asked him what I needed to do as she didn’t have pre-paid funeral plan. He graciously set up a preliminary meeting which he presented me with affordable options from which I chose. When the time came, all I had to do was sign a couple of documents and pay. He made the entire process as painless as it could possibly be. In addition to doing an immaculate job of my mom’s preparation for public viewing, he personally handled the visitation. I highly recommend Chapel of the Chimes funeral staff.

S.T. January 19, 2013

Dionne, I am sending this card to express my sincere thanks for the outstanding service that my family received from you during our time of loss. Thank you, for handling my brother's affairs professionally, compassionately and with sincerity. I will be sure to recommend my family and friends, so that they may experience the care and consideration that you demonstrated toward me and my family. Thanks, and Thanks again without your service and dedication I'm sure our brother's care would have been deficient. With sincere appreciation and gratitude.

V.T and Family

It took me two years to write this review. My brother unexpectedly died from his injuries in a car accident and was on life support for four days. Our family had to make the touch decision of taking him off and he passed away a day after being disconnected. As we tried to navigate this sad path, a family friend suggested we look at the Chapel of the Chimes and my parents loved it right away. We spoke with Tom, an older gentleman who was from the East Coast and he helped us in making plans for the service and everything. He was very kind and answered our questions thoroughly, making suggestions as we went. My brother was cremated and my mother was able to pick out a pretty urn for him.

A.L.

My husband passed recently, and the folks at Chapel of the Chimes were fantastic with all the details. They made us feel comfortable. A special shout-out to the ‘Todds’ — Todd Parker and Todd Walker – and to Clifford Davis for guiding us through the unconventional service we had. You guys made it spectacular. You too, Patrick!

J.C.

My Parents, grandparents, aunt and cousin are all in a niche at the Chapel. I am very pleased with the care that the Chapel has taken in the room where our family niche is. Recently the Chapel cremated my husband. Everything was handled very efficiently and professionally, I was very pleased with the experience.

M.S.

I would definitely recommend Chapel of the Chimes to friends and family. Tommy Marsden really took Care of our entire family through a very difficult time. He was available any time for questions & needs, he was caring and compassionate. He made the very difficult task of planning my husband’s burial & service as easy as it could have been. I couldn’t ask for a better guide through all of the difficult decisions that have to be made. I so appreciate everything that Chapel of the Chimes and Tommy did for us.

T.K.

I wish I could find the perfect words to describe how you helped my family and get through this most difficult time for all of us. You really know how to b there at the exact moment unexpected and help families with decisions we never had to think about. I am grateful for your caring staff we followed you through all my mother’s wishes and made a sad event a lasting memory she would be happy with and we knew it. God bless you all and much love…

D.A.

We had attended many services at Chapel of the Chimes over the years. This was the first service for our immediate family. Everything from location, parking, facilities, and help from Chapel staff was always outstanding. I would highly recommend to friends and family members.

H.L

My experience with Mr. Tom Marsden and Mrs. Sophie Arreta was informative, comforting professional and I can truthfully say very pleasant. The two ladies who acted as ushers were also quite pleasant. The minister recommended by Mr. Marsden gave just the right spiritual touch. I would definitely recommend Chapel of the Chimes.

A.H.

My first official contact with the Chapel of the Chimes was in the interment of my father’s and grandparents ashes there in 1967, followed by the interring my mother’s ashes in 1993. My most recent contact was in related to my wife’s ashes in 2013. Over the years I have been accorded the finest assistance and caring treatment by all the Chapel’s staff.

S.S.

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situations.

S.S.

Have referred recently my friend’s husband passed suddenly. Very home like atmosphere and peaceful staff are very respectful & professional.

G.B.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes Oakland was very positive. The staff was helpful and showed much compassion. The entire process placed less stress on me and my family. All of my paperwork was readily available and every detail was carefully explained. The staff us wonderful in standing ready to assist with future needs that may arise.

P.A.

Amazing service care and attention to every detail. We felt relaxed confident and in control of our decision. Sophie & Ribbian were professional and most importantly –Personable. Thank you from the Family

G.F.

Mr. Bell and Ms. Finley were understanding and efficient made a special effort on our behalf. Would recommend your services to anyone.

M.C.

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situations.

S.S.

My experience was very good. The staffs especially Linda Charles & Ed Bell were very caring and understanding. I would strongly recommend the Chapel of the Chimes.

C.M.

Love them we have had beautiful funeral always something unique and go along with everything I asked from them and more and very helpful. Ps. you keep it up the grounds look nice and clean.

E.S.

Ian and the Staff were extremely pleasant to work with. Thank You!!

C.F.

Every aspect of my brother’s services was above the level of expected service. All employees worked together to make this sad time into one of special honor to his services. Two people really went out of their way to help me with his service: Special thanks to these two, Mary Scott and Edward Bell.

M.B.

My experience with Chapel of the Chimes is twofold. My first occasion was my baby son, Chapel of the Chimes handle his services in a humane caring and professional manner. Second by my wife’s services were handle in the same manner. Hopefully in the distant future my last rites will also handle by Chapel of the Chimes my only choice.

M.R.

Mary Scott & Ribbian McGrew were amazing. I’ve had great experience with the entire staff over the past 6 years. Even though I know what to do in these circumstances, it was a relief to work with Mary & Ribbian who made this last process very smooth, comforting and dignified for my brother. They helped me “move on” with ease

D.N.

I would refer others to the Chapel.

M. MK. August 21, 2013

Everyone was professional and caring. Mary Scott and Ribbian McGrew were very helpful and patient excellent representation.

R.B.

Every aspect of my brother’s service was above the level of expected service. All employees worked together to make this sad time into one of special honor to his service. Two people really went out of their way to help me with his service: Special thanks to Mary Scott and Edward Bell.

M.R. July 23, 2013

My total experience in dealing with the staff at Chapel of the Chimes was a “5 Stars” or a “10” or an “A+”! Everyone was friendly, kind, sympathetic, and highly professional. I could not have been more please!

W.C. July 23, 2013

I would refer our friends and family. The service our family received was excellent. Very professional and the staff showed empathy for our family. Ribbian McGrew did an excellent job, helping us plan and just being there to guide us through the process.

R.C. July 23, 2013

My Experience was very good. The staffs especially Linda Charles and Edward Bell were very caring and understanding. I would strongly recommend the Chapel of the Chimes.

C.M. March 13, 2013

Everything was excellent. Your staff was very friendly and helpful nice folks. I will recommend to my Oakland friends in similar situation.

S.S. February 14, 2013

The entire staff at The Chapel of the Chimes are excellent employees who are polite and kind. They were very helpful after my mother’s passing. Todd Parker and Dionne Morgan were the advisors who helped us with my mother’s necessary paperwork and cremation service. Good thing our parents did advance planning with the chapel.

S.L. February 12, 2013

Staff was professional and attempted to accommodate my family’s needs. Very compassionate staff. Mr. Bell was very kind. Mr. Tommy Marsden was of great assistance on the day of the visitation.

A.N. January 19, 2013

We found everyone very compassionate and understanding. There was never a rush and we were very pleased with the service. An appointment was set up when my mother’s ashes were ready for placement and that went smoothly.

W.L. January 19, 2013

Tom, Many, many thanks for all your expertise, support, "energy" and even your sense of humor throughout the incredible process with my dear and wonderful father. You made it easy! You're the best! (Even if you are a Red Sox fan!) All the best!

J.C.H.

Tom, I just wanted to thank you again for your excellence in handling the services for my brother. You make everything so much easier for all of us, without you I can't image how we would have gotten through the crisis we were faced with. You were able to guide us, step-by-step, and holding our hands along the way. I personally appreciated your focus, humor, and support you are truly a wonderful kind-hearted person. Thanks for your service professionalism, and thoughtfulness. We could not have accomplished this challenge without you. P.S. Tell Raymond thanks also he was a perfect wonder on Saturday!

V.T. and Family